Coming Alive

Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.

I saw this quote, attributed to Howard Thurman, at the bottom of an email I received the other day. I’ve been thinking about it all week, since focusing on the world’s needs is a habit of mine and something that I think is rather important. But I get what he’s saying, that its equally important to tend to the things that make your heart beat faster. Starting a blog isn’t the most exciting way to start that process. I would rather travel around the world, create art or climb mountains. Staring at a screen trying to come up with the next post seems too much like work. But it may be a doable first step when the half hour before bed may be the only time I have to ask myself these questions, free of kids, dishes or work, when I can think out loud about what it is to come and be alive. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

