Tracker Jacker

European_wasp_white_bgIt is the second day of NaBloPoMo and I’m already behind on my commitment to write a daily post. Which is why I usually avoid this sort of forced march commitment  to accomplish anything in a proscribed amount of time. Daily discipline has never been my thing (except for regular mealtimes) and there is nothing worse than tripping out of the starting gate and knowing you’ll have put extra effort into catching up. Which is where I am now, eating the dust of the other bloggers already thundering down the track.

My excuse is in a nest of yellow jackets that I not only stepped into, but stood on, yesterday morning. Not ten minutes into a Labor Day hike, my sister yelled, “I’m getting stung” and took off down the trail. If I was smart I would have done the same, but instead I stood looking around, squinting to see what could be the culprit. There WERE little insects flitting through the air but I couldn’t quite make out what they were. Until I felt a sting, and looked down at 5-6 yellow and black striped Vespula maculifrons perched on various parts of my foot, about to commence synchronized stinging. I yelled and ran too.

The rest of the day was spent in a Benadryl haze, watching the swelling and feeling the pain creep up my foot and ankle, unchecked by ice or elevation or a magical concoction of the juice of crushed plantain leaves that a 15-year-old house guest whipped up. She assured me it was the same cure used to counter the venom of the fearsome Tracker Jacker wasps in the Hunger Games. It may have worked for Katniss, but not for me. Today my foot is the size of a football (see what I did there?) and the pain is now mixed with itching, a combination you really want to avoid. The doctor said this could go on for several days, just continue to ice and elevate, ice and elevate.

The silver lining of course is that when you can’t walk or drive a car, you have to stay put. And while laid up, you could even have time to write a few advance posts. Wish me luck. Now back to ice and elevation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

